Like tears in the rain

I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe….. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like…. tears in rain. Time to die.

Bladerunner
An amazing soliloquy, from an amazing film!

Life is just that, a series of moments… a drop in the ocean!! How we live it determines the manner of the end, but the ultimate outcome is the same!! The singular is absorbed into something much bigger!!

Memories & death can be likened to all states of water.. As all water goes through changes before it evaporates or is absorbed..

You can either vanish like the mist, burned up without a trace & forgotten!!
Rush like the river into the sea, leaving a path for others to follow, embedded into the landscape.. The river may dry up & disappear eventually, but it can provide support & comfort for many!
Or it can freeze, sealing the memories & remnants of the past inside! Keeping it close, searchable for the future…

I only hope that the memories I make are worth being lost in the rain! For I think it would be worse to have nothing to loose, nothing worth passing on!
I have had some amazing times in my life, some memories which I would love to pass down to my children & so on… Even the not so pleasant ones hold a lesson in them..

Like Batty, the urge to live… to keep our memories alive is what drives many people to survive, to fight death! I may not be afraid of death, but I will most definitely fight it… I’m not ready to go, till I’ve made some more memories, seen my own attack ships on fire & c-beams!! And until I’ve bored my grandchildren to tears with the stories of them…

20130313-161530.jpg

3 thoughts on “Like tears in the rain

  1. I like your analogy (is it an analogy? metaphor? hmm. No idea!) to water. Ray Bradbury wrote a great line in Farenheit 451 about leaving something behind. I totally agree!

  2. I couldn’t tell ya!! Maybe it’s a metaphoric analogy… Lol. You know I’ve never read that… Keep meaning to pick it up at the library, but get distracted by the barbarian paperbacks…

Leave a Reply

